Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.18 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

47 Church Street, Amherst, NS B4H 3A7

(902) 667-7791 | View Map


3.18 / 5

User rating: 3.18

Based on 22 votes and 21 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.95454545454545
  • Concession User rating: 3.1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.36363636363636
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.63636363636364
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.86363636363636

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 21 of 21

Horrible Ticket/Concession service

May 16, 2016

Some years ago, the Amherst cinema decided to combine it's ticket office into the concession area, forcing you to wait in long lines just to get a ticket or redeem one you paid for online. The building is old and decrepit, with only 3 screening rooms. One of which can't even be called a screening room because it's more of a cramped, dirty, whiplash room. I can appreciate trying to make the best with what you have, being a cinema in a smaller town, but the Amherst Cineplex has made changes to it's operations that have just made it worse. It's a wonder they haven't completely gone out of business. Any sane person who can afford it usually just takes their business into Moncton, an hour's drive to avoid that dump.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Great little theater

March 27, 2016

This is a great little theater. If given the choice in most cases I choose to go here rather than the big bow of Halifax or Moncton. The staff and management are great the theater is older but clean and I enjoy every visit.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Needs Renovations

March 19, 2016

I'm all for a theatre in an old building but this theatre is in need of renovations.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

BEST THEATRE EVER

December 16, 2015

IT'S SO CHEAP AND WHILE THERE'S ONLY A FEW MOVIES PLAYING AT A TIME IT'S SO QUIET AND SMALL AND NOBODY GOES THERE EVER AND TUESDAY NIGHTS IT'S EVEN CHEAPER.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

I love this theatre!

December 09, 2015

This may be a very small theatre but I love it. The people who work there are so friendly and greet you with a smile. Going to this theatre makes me happy and I feel at home here.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

My favourite theater!

December 09, 2015

Love this little theater. Yes, it's small, and old, but it has so many personal touches to make your experience a great one. The people who work there truly care about your experience and will really look after you. I've moved away and miss this movie theater more than anything. The prices are unbeatable and the service is great!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

November 11, 2015

Hate attending this theatre as you have to stand in line at concessions in order to buy a theatre ticket. Often keeps me away from this local theatre that I would like to support. This needs to be addressed!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

best movies in town

September 28, 2015

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Its Time Cineplex

September 27, 2015

Its time for Amherst to get a new Theater! Amherst would draw from as far as Wentworth, Pugwash, Tidnish, Sackville(NB) and all the areas in between. It does not draw from those areas now because of the quality of the seats, comfort and screens. It has a great staff, the best popcorn of any theater and is kept very clean. The issue is in Moncton and in Truro they have state of the art theaters so us folks in Cumberland county (as much as we want to support a local theater) end up wasting more money and travelling further. If we had an updated theater in Amherst, even if it was only 2 screens I guarantee it would be more than well supported. If you build it WE will come.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

For gods sake stop being lazy and put up posters!

April 15, 2015

For the love of god get off your asses and put up signage! How the hell are you supposed to run a theater when you have no up-front advertising.!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2
Change Location