Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.28 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

179 McAllister Drive, Saint John, NB E2J 2S6

(506) 632-4200 | View Map


2.28 / 5

User rating: 2.28

Based on 35 votes and 32 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2.5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2.17142857142857
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.38235294117647
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.32352941176471

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 32 of 32

Buy your ticket at concessions now?

September 26, 2016

Hadn't gone to movie theater in a long time. Went to watch Sully. Bought the Costco voucher. Paid the extra $6 for both of us thinking it was 3D only to find out it was for the UltraAVX which is for enhanced audio only. That was a rip-off as all they do is crank up the volume. Don't know is they still have a 3D theater as there ware no 3D movies paying at the time. No ticket clerk, you go to the already too long concession line to pay for your ticket/pick your seat/pay extra for anything else. But they had two people 30 feet away to get your ticket stub. I think they would do better if they had the movies listed on the marquee like they used. You drive by and see what movies are playing. Yes, you can look it up on your smartphone. Looks like they hadn't cleaned up the Theater 6 in a while.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Holy not ok for a baby

March 15, 2016

Who picks the stars and strollers movies I'm pretty sure babys shouldn't be watching murder and child abuse movies ..pick movies that are somewhat ok for a babys yes parents are watching but geeze I couldn't bring my baby ... not to mention what's the point in having seat selection if you can't use it because most of the time you don't have things out

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Too loud!

January 12, 2016

Sound is much too loud. Food ridiculously expensive. Movie titles no longer displayed on marquee. Overall, a sub par theatre.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

commercials

January 12, 2016

TOO MUCH COMMERCIALS!!!

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

High cost poor service = out of business

January 09, 2016

With the high cost and poor service I am surprised they are still in business.They are lucky to be the only theater in town..

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Best Theatre Around!!!

August 21, 2015

I personally love that the sound system is turned up loud. That's what gives me that real theatre experience. As for ALL those people that are complaining about the speakers being too loud, I would suggest you stay at home and wait for the dvd or go to the drive-in where you can control your desired volume. I go to this theatre with my whole family all the time and love it loud. I also can't say enough good things about the reserved seating, as I no longer have to worry about if we're gonna be able to sit together. This is the only theatre left in our area because all the other theatres were dumps compared to this place! So stop the bad reviews and retarded complaints!!

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Too Loud, Needs To Be Cleaned

July 19, 2015

Studio 10 in Saint John has a lot going for it. The theatres are well-sized, reserved seating means there are no surprises after you buy your tickets, the staff are friendly, and the food is good. Though, there are some issues that should be resolved. Like others, I find the tonality to be very forward and painful on the ears in the upper vocal range. This is aggrevated by how loud the sound is. The obvious free solution is to reduce the system volume, the more complex one being to slightly reduce the dynamic range & flatten the frequency response via digital sound processing, or equalizer. The other issue is some seating areas look as though they haven't been cleaned in a long time. If cleaning is a problem, then the seats and backrests could be replaced with tightly woven waterproof covers.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Love-hate relationship

May 29, 2015

Contrary to some other reviews, the one thing I do love is the reserved seating. This way I don't have to worry about getting to the theater only to find out the only seats left are terrible; or not being able to sit with my friends because there aren't enough empty seats together. Things I hate include the extremely loud sound; having to endure TV commercials during the pre-show after having paid so much to see a movie; the constant understaffing and resulting long lineups; the crazy expensive prices for snacks; and the TimePlay app that has never worked for me.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Too loud

May 07, 2015

On the few occasions I've seen movies here in the past few years the sound has been so loud as to be painful. Last time I wore earplugs, which helped, but why is it so loud?! Would like to bring my kids once in a while but have heard from friends the kids movies are equally as deafening.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Get a grip

March 30, 2015

To the person who said "Very Up Set", obviously you couldn't buy tickets for Next Saturday on a Sunday, they haven't even decided which movies they're showing yet. Give the theatre a break, the movies are chosen each week and change each Friday so give them some time and don't fly off the handle, if you have grandchildren you should be old enough to realize new movies come out on Fridays, you used to have to check the paper on Friday to see what was new, they didn't let you know on Thursday or anytime before that because they only decide early in the week after the box office results are in.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location