Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 2.82 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

404 Duncan St., Duncan, BC V9L 3X3

(250) 748-0678 | View Map


2.82 / 5

User rating: 2.82

Based on 46 votes and 34 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 2.82608695652174
  • Concession User rating: 2.75555555555556
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.02173913043478
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2.69565217391304
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.80434782608696

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 34 of 34

October 20, 2016

Good value and checks all the boxes

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Big Improvement ....

October 17, 2016

Wonderful to be able to enjoy a Cinema Experience close to Home. Such a hugely positive improvement since the ownership change!

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Great popcorn

May 31, 2016

Economical and close to home

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

On January 17, 2016...

January 17, 2016

I want to see The Revenant. I want to see The Hateful Eight. I want to see The Big Short. I wanted to see Creed. SOMEHOW, all that's playing is STAR WARS 7, now a whole month old, and, new this week, NORM OF THE NORTH--which has 0% on Rotten Tomatoes and absolutely no hype. Before this, there was ALVIN AND THE CHIPMUNKS (released Dec. 6), followed by SISTERS (Dec. 18). Do most people who go to movies in Duncan suck this bad? This theatre is careless and slow. Every week, I check to see if the showings have changed and something WORTH WATCHING has come in. Star Wars was the last offering, but it's overstayed itself, then overstayed itself again--DURING AWARDS SEASON. Do I seriously have to commute to Nanaimo or Victoria to get a sober selection of films? Is Caprice Cinemas even a little self-aware, perhaps recognizing that the reason it can't pack its venue on the OPENING NIGHT OF STAR WARS 7 is because it's alienated local customers and lost that business to big city cinemas that can at least keep up a pulse? The shameless formula: Cinema 1) Have the biggest blockbuster on as long as possible, and Cinema 2) Bring in some relatively-tame special interest picture or the latest kiddy trash. Owned by the same people who did an alright job running the Caprice and Rialto in White Rock back when both of those venues were in business (RIP Rialto, you wonderful little moviehouse), the interests of their distant Duncan relative are a pale comparison. Step it up, guys.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 0
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Improved

December 09, 2015

I like what they have done to upgrade the theatre it is great. My biggest complaint is finding out what is playing. Online I can only seem to find what is playing that week nothing further in advance. It really limits our movie going decisions.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

fewer juvenile movies

November 27, 2015

Please fewer inane movies for grade school children. We want thoughtful movie for adults ( not goopy romances either)...Also separate tickets from the concession line up.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

So much better....

November 20, 2015

You should disregard most of the reviews from before 2014 as the ownership and management changed. Since then they have updated projectors, added debit machine, increased the options at the concession and added cup holders (most cup holders were removed after being broken off). They've also added a 4:00 pm showing which accommodates a lot of the younger kids and older folks. They are slowly updated other things too - it is so much better than it used to be.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

A Big Improvement

November 16, 2015

It is so nice to have a local cinema that is at least trying to give their movie goers a reasonable venue. Several years ago this cinema had hit rock bottom with miserable owner/managers. I don't know if the ownership changed or if they actually smartened up, but we are back going to the movies in Duncan rather than driving all the way to Victoria or Nanaimo!

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Same old stains on ceiling as 20 yrs ago

November 07, 2015

Only theatre in town so we usually have to go to Vic or Nanaimo. Would love more comfortable seats. Due to back injury a more comfortable seat would prob make us more inclined to go to Duncan over another town.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

What a great improvement!!

September 22, 2015

Well done. I can't be more pleased with the new owners efforts ! Upgrades are numerous and long overdue .They have made a night out at the movies fun again.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5
Change Location