Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.73 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

2655 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, BC V9N 2L8

(250) 338-5550 | View Map


1.73 / 5

User rating: 1.73

Based on 93 votes and 80 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 1.64516129032258
  • Concession User rating: 1.55813953488372
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.63953488372093
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.64367816091954
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.18390804597701

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 50 of 80

Usually good popcorn but was terrible!!!

November 01, 2016

We saw The Accountant at the Courtenay theatre which was great but the popcorn was terrible!!! This is the first time that the popcorn was non edible. Not many of the popcorn had popped or had halfway popped! We told a person behind the counter and she just said that others had complained about it the past couple days. So why are they selling it!!!! Or sell it for $1 a bag! And it's not worth that. Will not be going to that theatre until they fix the popcorn kettle.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

We enjoy going to the movies at the Riato

October 31, 2016

The seats are not the best but not the worst either. yes the concession stand is pricy as they all are. They usually have the up to date movies to watch and also lots of movies for kids on the weekends so we will keep on enjoying ourselves.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Seating

October 23, 2016

Worst seating of any theatre I've ever been in

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

We are screaming for better seats

October 07, 2016

Seats are low, uncomfortable and outdated. My partner needed help to stand up and we both found it difficult to sit through the entire movie because of the stiff hard seats.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

fanny bay

September 25, 2016

seats are brutal why????????????

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Great theatre

September 13, 2016

It is the only option for the "big screen" in Comox Valley. I like this theatre. It is well laid out for viewing movies. I can get in and join friends as it is accessible to me in my wheelchair - I come with my own best seat in the house. I can ask for less salt on the popcorn, and they host all kinds of film events for the community from opera to art gallery film viewings. The theatre is clean and the staff helpful.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Mediocre theatre - needs upgrades.

August 24, 2016

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

most uncomfortable seating in the province

July 28, 2016

Always enjoyed going to see a movie on the big screen. The Courtenay Rialto has the most uncomfortable seating in the world. You would think that they would replace with new seating in order to bring their customers in. Went in the afternoon on a summer day. The air conditioning was not on. It a pleasant experience. Clean your act up.....please.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 0
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Just put in new seats already!

June 27, 2016

It's a small theater in a small now. My expectations are not that high. Small screens and long wait times just to get your ticket. The young teens working behind the counter do they best they can. You have to line up with everyone buying popcorn. I never see anyone at the actual box office window anymore. I think we would all be happy if you just put in new seats already! The seats are horrible and have been for years. Springs are gone and as soon as you sit down you sink to the bottom. My kids bring pillows to sit on now. I hear a new theater is coming soon near the Costco. It won't come soon enough! It's worth the drive to Nanaimo just to sit in a clean theater and proper seats.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Not THAT bad, but not great either

June 20, 2016

I don't know what to say about the management as I don't work there, but the staff seem ok, if a bit dis-interested. The place doesn't look spectacular, but it's not by any means high class. The seats are ok, but not great. My point is that this place is not THE WORST theater in existence. I get the experience I expect upon coming here. I go in, get the stuff I need, and watch a movie with enough sound for it to be enjoyed. Sure the place could easily be *better* but I'm not gonna get huffy and slam it to the ground for it. It's mediocre, yes, and people deserve a bit better. I simply don't think it's a 1 star theater. The overall rating it has it what it deserves.

  • General Experience User rating: 3
  • Concession User rating: 3
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 3
Change Location