Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 1.74 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

2655 Cliffe Avenue, Courtenay, BC V9N 2L8

(250) 338-5550 | View Map


1.74 / 5

User rating: 1.74

Based on 101 votes and 87 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 1.64356435643564
  • Concession User rating: 1.6063829787234
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1.63829787234043
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1.67021276595745
  • Customer Service User rating: 2.15789473684211

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 50 of 87

Worst movie theatre anywhere

February 16, 2017

Slow, poor service. Dirty. The seats are atrocious. They are so uncomfortable we call them the seats of discipline. There has been nothing spent on maintenance. They don't care because they know they are the only game in town. We only go when we absolutely want to see a movie on the big screen otherwise we wait for the video release. They are competing with on-line and cable but are doing nothing to make the customer experience pleasant.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 2
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Joke

January 23, 2017

Place is a joke. No staff. Tech Problems. No refunds. Bad seats. And need to be there and hr before movie of u want pop corn and don't want to miss movie. Place is a shit hole. And the owners should be ashamed. Step it up and make a real theater and you will actually get bussiness. Go to Campbell River everyone the have a nice theater and it's closet than the rat hole theater in Courtenay

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

I'm signing up for Netflix!

January 22, 2017

The most uncomfortable seats in Canada. I've given Rialto several tries, each one horrible. Tonight was my last visit for which my back will be grateful. Especially given the years of negative ratings and the zero response back. The kids in the concession are nice.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

worst seats EVER!

January 19, 2017

This theater is getting so run down. You get a feeling that it is closing rather than trying to improve its customer service. I have never experienced the discomfort that the seating in this theater has. It is hard to sit through a festure presentation without having to move and wiggle around. This theater should upgrade or close completely.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 0
  • Customer Service User rating: 2

Seats too worn

January 16, 2017

I love going to movies and have been to quite a few since moving to Courtenay 11 years ago but the seats are getting too worn and uncomfortable it feels like you can slide right out...maybe time to invest in new ones. Even take a look at maybe not replacing all seats but some.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Terrible wait times

December 16, 2016

Usually very long wait times to get tickets. Makes it very hard to take children, seniors who cannot wait like this - makes people late for movies. Short staffed and those there aren't terrible professional. Challenging - puts one off going to the movies there.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Water Boiling in Courtenay means we get a 12 oz. soda instead of a large 20 oz.

December 10, 2016

The chairs Are falling apart and the place is run down. Courtenay needs a new theatre in this town.

  • General Experience User rating: 2
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 3

Usually good popcorn but was terrible!!!

November 01, 2016

We saw The Accountant at the Courtenay theatre which was great but the popcorn was terrible!!! This is the first time that the popcorn was non edible. Not many of the popcorn had popped or had halfway popped! We told a person behind the counter and she just said that others had complained about it the past couple days. So why are they selling it!!!! Or sell it for $1 a bag! And it's not worth that. Will not be going to that theatre until they fix the popcorn kettle.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

We enjoy going to the movies at the Riato

October 31, 2016

The seats are not the best but not the worst either. yes the concession stand is pricy as they all are. They usually have the up to date movies to watch and also lots of movies for kids on the weekends so we will keep on enjoying ourselves.

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 2
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Seating

October 23, 2016

Worst seating of any theatre I've ever been in

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location