Thank you for rating this theatre!

User rating: 3.45 Read Reviews | Rate Theatre

301 Wildflower Road, Strathmore, AB T1P 1M9

(403) 934-3057 | View Map


3.45 / 5

User rating: 3.45

Based on 14 votes and 11 reviews



  • General Experience User rating: 3.57142857142857
  • Concession User rating: 3.14285714285714
  • Cleanliness User rating: 3.5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 3.28571428571429
  • Customer Service User rating: 3.76923076923077

 

Please rate this theatre

  • General Experience *

  • Concession

  • Cleanliness

  • Theatre Presentation

  • Customer Service



Theatre Reviews

Showing 1 to 11 of 11

Love it!

November 14, 2016

My wife and I love this place! First timers will see it for its age but we're proud of our town theatre! The past and new owners are great. It costs less than Calgary which is a big plus. I think it was in the 1930's when a live band would 'parade' up the street towards the theatre then finish the concert inside.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Classic building.

September 23, 2016

First class leg space & extra wide seats. Concession prices were too high. Building is very old and has original architecture (some quite impressive). New digital screen & sound is a big improvement over the last systems.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Should Be Condemned and Torn Down

December 30, 2015

Feeble attempt at renovating, just a coat of paint. There is a musty mold smell that irritates your eyes, nose and throat long after you leave. This building should have been condemned and torn down decades ago. There must be a tax dodge happening here. No Debit or Credit accepted means cash that does not need to be declared. Over priced and is your health at risk from the concession? The washrooms are from the second wold war era and are a 1 person or smaller size. Use the toilet at home before going and do not drink liquids while there just in case. The theatre is cold, wear a winter jacket and cuddle up together and share body heat. The floors are sticky, possible pop spills or it would not surprise me if it was urine. Creepy guy running the place. Save your money and wait until the movie comes to NETFLIX.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1

Small town theater

December 07, 2015

Great place to watch movie with your wife/ husband . Quiet and cozy.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

July 15, 2015

rude people and terrible movie quality

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 2
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 0

My childhood theatre

November 21, 2014

I love this theatre. Just like in my home town theatre in Slovakia(35 years ago)

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 5
  • Cleanliness User rating: 5
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 5
  • Customer Service User rating: 5

Pretty good

August 29, 2014

The new owners are very nice I have seen many movies there

  • General Experience User rating: 4
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Small town feel.

January 16, 2014

Smaller screen than the city theatres but the seat are way more comfortable and the adult balcony is nice for a change once in a while. I have been to 10+ movies at the Joyland and have enjoyed each and everyone.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Love this Theatre

December 18, 2013

I love this theatre in Strathmore. Has comfortable seats, small town atmosphere, friendly and unlike anything you would find in Calgary. This is Mom and Pop business and it is so quaint and cute. I would love to see theatre for years to come.

  • General Experience User rating: 5
  • Concession User rating: 4
  • Cleanliness User rating: 4
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 4
  • Customer Service User rating: 4

Kicked out of the Theater!?

October 03, 2013

Took my kids to see a G-rated movie. They showed a very non-G rated violent and profane trailer before the movie so I decided to complain to the owner. Nobodies kids need to see that kind of filth. Unbelievably - she kicked me and my kids out of the theater. "If you don't like it then you need to leave." Besides being a crappy old theater with a really small screen this was insult to injury. Try tell your 6 year old that Dad got kicked out so you have to go home too and miss the movie you have been waiting to go see. Don't waste your money - go to a nice theater in Calgary where they don't treat you this badly.

  • General Experience User rating: 1
  • Concession User rating: 1
  • Cleanliness User rating: 1
  • Theatre Presentation User rating: 1
  • Customer Service User rating: 1
Change Location